CIOL Qualifications

Assessment update

We continue to monitor the latest advice from the UK Government regarding the Covid-19 pandemic. We believe the move to our online Virtual Centre for our professional exams has been the right thing to do to secure our assessment provision now and for the future, whilst keeping our candidates safer through the challenges of Covid-19.

We understand this is still a difficult time for many and realise that undertaking assessment online comes with its own challenges and can create anxiety for some candidates. However, we aim to provide you with the support you need so that you, our candidates, can progress with as little disruption as possible.

Professional Qualifications for:






Public Service Interpreters:






Police Interpreters:


Diploma in Translation (DipTrans)
Level 7






Diploma in Public Service Interpreting (DPSI) Level 6





Diploma in Police Interpreting (DPI) Level 6


Our translator and interpreter qualifications have been developed to meet the highest professional language standards and are regularly reviewed to ensure that they remain relevant, reliable and valid. 

Created by fellow language professionals they are designed to allow candidates to demonstrate the highest levels of translating and interpreting. They are widely recognised by government departments, agencies, business organisations and public services.

Certificate in Bilingual Skills

For Police Officers & staff:

      Certificate in Bilingual
      Skills - Police
      (Level 3)

A note to candidates – changes to exam completion period:

Following completion of the DPSI and DPI exam sessions in November 2020, and the DipTrans session in January 2021, CIOL Qualifications reduced the exam completion timeframe from five years to three years. This change applies to all exam sessions from 01 February 2021. 

Since February 2021 all new applicants for our qualifications are required to complete the qualification within a three year period. The three year full exam completion period applies from the first year that a candidate receives a unit certificate. Therefore, once a candidate has received a ‘pass’ in any part of an exam, they have two more years to successfully complete all outstanding parts of a qualification.

Candidates who registered and passed a unit of the qualification between 2017 and 2020 continue to have five years in which to complete the full qualification and are not impacted by this change.